Adam Talks- Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection

metal-gear-solid-the-legacy-collection

“This Week’s Game Isn’t A Game At All”

The best release in the UK this week, The Walking Dead: 400 Days DLC, just happens to be my topic of discussion last week (because there was nothing better to talk about last week and I have deadlines, you dig?).  So, I’m once again going to discuss a game that was released in the US this week but won’t be making it’s way to Europe until September (source).

Or, actually, I’m not.  Because firstly, this week’s game isn’t a game at all; it’s a collection.  And secondly, the game itself isn’t my topic for discussion.  All will become clear, don’t worry.

Before I get into that, is anybody else wondering how long I can go without actually naming said game?

Okay, it’s Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection.

metal-gear-solid-big-boss--660x330

“Now In Shiny HD”

As mentioned earlier, I’m not really going to discuss the game (again, not a game, it’s a collection), mostly because I’m rather bitter at being made to wait another couple of months to re-immerse myself in my second favorite franchise (the first being the Final Fantasy series, FYI).

From any other commentator this article would be about the shameful repackaging of old, stale content for the sake of a quick buck.  But not for this guy!  I actually welcome the chance to replay some of the games that defined my teenage years, now in shiny HD!  I’m not sure why I never picked up the HD Trilogy pack when that was released last year.  I think, somehow, I always knew a bigger, better collection would eventually come to market.  And it has.

Just to throw some actual facts into this piece, here’s what you get in the Legacy Collection:

  • Metal Gear Solid

  • Metal Gear Solid 2: HD Edition

  • Metal Gear Solid 3: HD Edition (which also includes the original MSX versions of Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2)

  • Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker HD Edition

  • Metal Gear Solid: Special Mission

  • Metal Gear Solid 4: Trophy Edition

metal_gear_solid_the_legacy_collection_mgs_graphic_novels_1

“There’ll No Doubt Be Great Interest In This Edition”

As big a MGS fan I am, I’ve not actually played all the games in the above list.  I never managed to get my hands on copies of Metal Gear, Metal Gear 2 or Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, so getting the chance to finally play these games is great.  It will really complete the whole MGS experience for me and serves as a fantastic ‘first course’ ahead of the impending release of Metal Gear Solid V.

You could easily say this collection is a simple cash-in on Konami’s part, but for the hardcore fans who thrive in collecting every piece of merchandise, every version of every game there’ll no doubt be great interest in this edition.  If you’d just forked out for the HD Trilogy and then perhaps bought a few of the other games separately you’d feel aggrieved, but it’s not like Konami need to keep us informed on their future developments to prevent us from spending more money.  They’re a business, after all.

As I see it, I’m going to get around 50 hours enjoyment out of this collection (when it eventually does land on my doormat this September) and I’ll enjoy every fucking minute of it.  Couple that with supporting a fantastic developer like Konami (and the insane mind of MGS creator, Hideo Kojima) and you’ll find no complaints from me.

I guess I’m just a consumer.

No, I’m a gamer.

2 responses to “Adam Talks- Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection

Leave a Reply

